Seek first to understand

I find myself stepping back, surrendering my truth, my belief that I’m smart and that I know, and that others are ignorant and bigoted, and instead seeking to understand, not because I need to understand, but because there is understanding to be had in this moment, dare I say, enlightenment. I voted for Hilary, not Trump, and I voted for Bernie, not Hilary. It behooves me to seek to understand what I am missing from my echo chamber, what the majority is seeing and experiencing that I’m not. And my judgment that others are ignorant and bigoted only gets in my way of understanding what I clearly do not understand: where I repress, hide, and deny my own ignorance and bigotry. I am missing something. I am, not them. This is the space I can learn and grow from.
“Seek first to understand, then to be understood.” ~ Stephen Covey

Leave a Reply

