Don’t make excuses for your behavior, make behavior for your excuses.

When you notice yourself consistently making the same excuse for the same behavior, it’s time to flip the script. Look at the excuse and notice that it is just as undesirable as the behavior for which it is trying to excuse.

EXAMPLE…

BEHAVIOR: Smoking cigarettes.
EXCUSE: I only smoke when I drink. (Often said by people who drink more than they realize.)

Script Flip…

BEHAVIOR: Saying, “I only smoke when I drink.”
EXCUSE: I only say that to avoid looking at how often I both smoke and drink.

Leave a Reply

